Meow Mix

Late rabbitSo the time is approaching… QUICKLY. (✪㉨✪) LIKE UBER quickly. We leave on Wednesday. And then it’s only a short week until school starts. I’m nervous, excited and terrified all at the same time. I mean this is my first time in formal education in 10 years. Yes, I did attend college for Culinary School but that was pretty much just playing all day. (。♥‿♥。) I adored the format of culinary arts! We had a total of five classes (normalé) but the semester was split up completely different from any other post secondary school I had ever attended. We had two theory classes a semester and three practical classes. Two days a week we’d study in regular classrooms for about an hour. This was after a full day (7am – 12pm) of cooking. We were split into three sections and each month we’d study a separate section. I LOVED only having two real subjects a month. It meant no exams were scheduled on the same day; we could concentrate on one subject, learn it inside and out and then move onto the next. Needless to say this (triumphant) return to post secondary education will be a shock to the system. (ಠ益ಠ”)

Thankfully I have four subjects each semester in my first year, I’m keeping it light for the sheer fact that I _can_. I Love rocktook two years at University previously and it’s helped me out (and not, but that’s another story). Due to the classes that I took they’ve all transferred so I don’t have to take anymore extemporaneous classes. I can just take the core classes that I need. This makes life a heck of a lot easier for me – no bullsh*te courses to have to suffer through (again.) ヽ(゜∇゜)ノ YAY! Thus I only have to take four classes each semester this year. Of course the load is a lot higher due to the fact that every single one of those eight classes involve labs. (ノ>ノ) I figure if I stay positive I’ll be able to do them no problem!

Lace color-pinkIn other news packing is coming along greatly! For the most part, with the exception of perishables, kitchen tools I use all the time, and cleaning products & tools. I think that’s going perfectly on schedule! I’d say I’ll take the day off tomorrow buuuuuuttt…. I’ll get to cleaning the house best I can, hiding boxes that are staying behind. I did some of that today but /(x~x)\ I pulled my back out AGAIN. And of course to top it all off the box moving killed my feet. I’m just hoping to be able to stand tomorrow. *fingers crossed*
On Tuesday, after the movers come I’m SOOOOOOO (like SOOoOOOOOOoOOOO) excited!!, we are heading to Cook pooh bearmy all time favourite curry place: Lan’s Asian Grill. I’m really going to miss this place. My Dad introduced my family to it when he was working at NAIT. It is the best place for Thai and Vietnamese in town. Tom, the owner, was vegan for 11 years which means his vegetarian menu is epic. Yes I know, strange for a chef to love vegetarian food. But I really do. I really find that good vegetarian food is hard to make. Most Chefs believe that vegetarian dish means some combination of grilled eggplant, zucchini, roast peppers, portabello mushrooms and cheese. Seriously people it’s the worst combination EVER. I love zucchini, peppers and portabellos; adore cheese (hate eggplant) but together they just SUUUUUUUCK. I have quite a few friends who are vegetarians and when we go out it’s nice to have a place that’s AWESOME. It’s also awesome for my friends who are allergic to fish to be able to enjoy thai cuisine safely.

Well that’s it for today! Time for dinner of salmon tartare and corn on the cob. Yup, that’s how I roll. ヾ(^∇^)

Your opinion

